Wedding Series: Photographers, Photos and Paper…

Hey, Y’all!

So today, I thought I would blog my second post in the Wedding Series. If you have not read the first post, 364 Days til ‘I Do’, feel free to go check it out before or after reading this one!

23

 

This time I wanted to touch on photographers, engagement photos and save the dates. All three very important items on the checklist! Now, before getting engaged I had already promised my best friend, and bridesmaid, Tia that one day she could do my engagement photos. When mom began talking about Josh and I needing to get our photos done for the save the dates I reached out to Tia and set up the time and place. Due to distance from base the location I originally chose, was not going to work for our photos (which sucked due to sentimental attachments to the original loacation). This caused us to look at options again. We came to the decision we wanted to have our photos in Virginia Beach. We took photos out on the beach by the ocean (and with our sweet little pup, Reese). We were also able to take a ride over to the lighthouses in town for a few more photos.

Once we had our engagement photos complete we were able to start working on our save the dates. While it is not recommended to skip sending these out, if you will have a short 3-6 month engagement then it may be best to save the money and just send invites. The purpose of save the dates is literally so those on your guest list have a heads up about date and location. These have also been known to shorten your invite list as some will call and let you know that they are already busy that day or your wedding is simply too far for them. Now, again just as with a lot of other things, Josh and I chose one style of save the date but with the budget it made more sense to go a different route. Due to our shared love of reading, and the fact he popped the question in a bookstore (You can read about the proposal in my previous post How He Asked), we were going to go with bookmark save the dates. These were going to put us paying way more than we wanted for 175 save the dates but I was able to find another option that worked for us and saved us a little more than $100! We went with these adorable postcard save the dates. {We found them on weddingpaperdivas.com!}20622968_10212223247468818_453070350_o

Okay, photographers! So, you may be thinking well what about the person who took your engagement photos?? Well, if you remember I said she is my bridesmaid meaning she will be a tad too busy during the events to take photos. This meant we were on the hunt for someone to put their camera to use next April! I had talked to a few people but they just were not the right fit. When my mom and two of my bridesmaids attended a bridal show in Raleigh I met a man named Warren McCormack and knew that he was the one for our big day. I will warn anyone at the point of picking the individual with a camera…get ready for this to be one of your biggest expenses. What made me feel better about this being one of the biggest costs on the list was thinking about how these photos are quite possibly the most important you’ll ever have. I can say that by finding your photographer at a wedding show can be of benefit because they offer specials. We got travel fees waved and a $500 package discount this means $1400 in savings!

main-logo

Alright, Y’all, this post made me feel good knowing how many things we have marked off our list so far. If any of you are planning your big day and have some tips for photos on the big day that you are glad you have let me know. I’m talking with my photographer soon and maybe I can discuss some of the photos I do not want to miss! Enjoy a few more engagement photos!

Leave a Reply

